Flame

My lips are chapped.
I don’t fit in small sizes.
I’ve got messy hair,
I don’t have clear skin.
I’m not smart
I’m not ‘cool’.
My eyes hide behind thick glasses,
I’m too soft to be heard and
I crack lame jokes.
This girl doesn’t have that fire in her.

But it’s your loss that you,
You don’t see my raw smile, the most genuine one you’ll see
Don’t see how well every inch of me fits with my piano pedal and keys
Nor how wildly beautiful my hair gets after an hour of dancing in the rain
And you haven’t held my warm, welcoming hands
Haven’t been blown away by the whirlwind that is my mind.
You don’t know or care how thoughtful I am
Or see my eyes shining every sunrise, every morning.
You don’t hear me sing lullabies to my cat every night
So she doesn’t go to bed crying like I do
Your loss that you’re oblivious and
You think I’m a burnt out matchstick

When really- there’s this glowing ember waiting
To engulf you with its flame.

52 thoughts on “Flame

  1. I am absolutely blown away by the power and beauty of this offering….wow…just…wow!!!!!! You are so enviable, so special, so beautiful, so inspiring,and so gifted….thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is so… Magnificent. That’s the right word to describe it. So powerful… Just brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow this is so good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this so much ❤
    You're amazing

    Liked by 2 people

  5. it’s amazing Truly wonderful keep on writing

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I like the line of how wildly beautiful your hair becomes while dancing in the rain. It’s a good reminder to all of what beauty is.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. whoa,this is really good (jealous!) XD

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I always despair
    When here
    And there
    There’s hair
    With such flair
    As yours – there.
    It’s not slightly fair
    For mine’s just bare.
    I don’t mean my skull
    I just mean that it’s dull
    Whereas you’re so full.
    So here – whilst I mull
    In this lifeless lull
    Virgin wool
    Pull
    ul
    .

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I am not a lover of poetry, But that was superb.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Two sides to yourself.
    Always best to hold them together.
    Bind them tight with all your strength and determination.
    We all need every single fingernail in life so it’s so good to make them all pull in the same direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sweet sup
    Ugly cup.

    Tastes like ass
    Fine wine glass.

    Makes no difference
    Black or white.
    Some things good
    Some things shite.

    Up above
    Beyond our life
    Watching love
    Watching strife.

    Sits and laughs
    Popcorn pops
    Life’s a movie
    Then it stops.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. […] avoid it as… well, I just don’t get it most of the time, I am getting better I think. I found this recently and whilst the first bit was having me thinking “it doesn’t rhyme” or “I am not […]

    Liked by 1 person

  13. As I said over on my blog I tend to live in my imagination when it comes to posts on my blog, and so try and do that when I read other peoples blogs too. On your post it was 2 lines that I particularly liked, they were “You don’t see my raw smile, the most genuine one you’ll see” and “Nor how wildly beautiful my hair gets after an hour of dancing in the rain”.

    The first line had me thinking of a freckled girl, no makeup, with a big smile, one that reaches the eyes. I cannot think about what made the smile happen, maybe a present was given to her, or perhaps it was a smile of anticipation as she herself was awaiting a reaction on someone she had given a present to, for some reason I see this in black and white, probably because I have a post scheduled for a couple of weeks time which has a black and white picture of a freckled girl with little to no makeup in it.

    The second line is based I guess on my love of rain and I could imagine an almost gothic scene, although really no timeline could be associated with it, a girl in a white dress, dark hair spinning around barefoot on the grass when a full on thunderstorm is going on, black hair matted against her face by the rain, and when she stops her hair is wild as are her eyes.

    Amazing what you can get from 2 lines of text really.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I nearly can’t believe all of that went through your mind just because of my post! I love the rain too, I’m a huge fan haha. Each scene from your head you’ve described sounds so happy, I feel all wistful.
      Thank you so so much for sharing what you thought with me, it means a lot 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. That was such a powerful creation and I could even relate to it!! This has become one of my favourites, already! Saving it on the drive, with you giving the due credits of course. It is going to be my fuel in the times of exhaustion and ‘giving up’. Kudos to your work!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Love your Flame. It’s a shame that so much beauty is missed. Maybe that’s the joy of friendship – what makes it special: we are privileged to get close enough to another human that we witness the true inner beauty that goes beyond surface hair and skin. What you have done in your poem is a favour to your readers: without having to spend the time getting to know you, we have been allowed a glimpse of that beauty. Thank you. Keep shining.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Heyyy I would like to nominate you for the 3 Day Quote Challenge! Its an adorable little challenge and I hope you do it!
    https://perfectreverieblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/14/3-more-quotes-i-love/

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I loved this poem and I think that every person should have that attitude. Could you check out a poem that I wrote and give any feedback?
    https://poetry2473.wordpress.com/2016/07/12/friendship-and-love/
    If you like it then maybe we can follow each other!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. 💟💟💟💟💟💟💟💟

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Lovely! It’s true that so much beauty is missed, but it looks like you’ve got a pretty good attitude about it — knowing that you are worth more, even if others can’t see it. Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Your beautiful eyes so clear,It looked like a little teddybear,So sweet and harmless,It would light up the darkness,Look in her unique eyes And you’ll see she’s very wise.. these were the line that strike my mind although I have just seen one pic of yours and when i saw your post the way u have pen down them is simply amzing i mean each and everything by u is so beautifully described … trust me the way u play with the words is simply amazing I mean so magical they are

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Ajay! 🙂

      Like

      • Ur most welcome but seriously ur eyes are so adorable and ur smile compliment them a what all I can say is a black haired angel a face sculpted with perfection in every angle with beautiful eyes that seem to peer though souls and dreams a voice that flows elegantly like a steady stream seriously Beauty Throughout beauty within, Ur beauty is unique and lies deeper than skin, physically ur beauty is stunning and that’s no surprise, But ur most beautiful feature…. Are those beautiful deep eyes of yours

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, that’s really nice.

        Liked by 1 person

  21. I can’t stop rereading this. I love it so much. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Thanks so much! 😀

    Like

  23. Oh My God… this is just wonderful. I am completly amazed, I mean this is like spot on. You really are an amazing writer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

