A Note To Routine Things

Dear Table,

I apologize dearly for how little I get to see you, your surface. I know it’s my fault that I rarely bother with cleaning you up. I really should place those stacks of books and piles of shirts elsewhere but I can’t bring myself to do it! You’re rather cluttered, yes, but hey- if I know exactly where everything I need is in that mess, it doesn’t count. Right?

“Accessible design is good design.” – Steve Ballmer.

Table, I’ve done you good design.

Dear Notebooks,

I hate how many of you I need to carry in my bag everyday thanks to my despicable school timetable, and I cannot promote you to the cupboard or shelves from the corner of my table because of how often I need to grab the right few of you in that last minute hurry every morning.

Dear Textbooks,

I’m sorry if you’re upset that I don’t take you to school with me even on the days that I’m supposed to. I promise I’ll take one of you in turns everyday from the tall stack on the table. Besides, don’t you think I see you enough the rest of the day?

Dear Basket of Memories,

Your place is permanent. I haven’t seen the wood of your corner of the table for a while now and I don’t care enough to either. I want that I continue spending those five minutes everyday picturing your creation in my mind and closely observing that beautiful handwriting and fancy decor and feeling incredibly grateful for the existence of your makers.

Dear Clothes,

Get off, seriously. The number of times I’ve whined at my cat because of you is too high. “Ugh, Tiger, why’re you so useless? Why can’t you arrange my clothes in the cupboard, at least? Do something!”

Dear Homeopathy Medicine,

Don’t move! Quite contrary to the doctor’s belief, I do not enjoy suffering! It’s not a hobby! Let me finish you.

image

Dear Name Badge,

I know you’re there somewhere on my table, with your pin very conveniently lying uncovered so you prick me when I’m least expecting it, when I’m looking for something. You shouldn’t be so jealous that I wear my other name badge – that one’s waiting for me patiently near the bathroom sink every morning.

Dear Trophies,

😏😏😏.

Dear Godzilla Figurine,

I’m not scary. You’re not scary. We’re not scary. Looking at you calms me down and any anger I feel towards life in general is forgotten. Thank you to your purchaser (You’ll be surprised by how much I need this).

image

Dear Comb and Nail Cutter and Coffee Mug and Back Cover of an Old TV Remote(?!),

What are you doing here?

Dear Post-its,

Yes I know I should be chemistry-ing right now and oh god, I forgot to do my biology homework.

image

Dear Blue Gel Pen,

Stop going missing! I know you’re on my table. I’ll find you. Where could you possibly disappear to? You and your accomplice, that one Apsara Extra Dark pencil I managed to scavenge from class. I’ve got work, reveal yourselves.

Dear Readers,

I don’t have the time to clean my table right now! I have homework, you know. And after that, piano practice. And then, dinner. I’ll just have to do it some other day. I will. Maybe.

Yours sincerely,

Maitreyi.

18 thoughts on “A Note To Routine Things

  1. This is amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t. This is just 😮

    Liked by 2 people

  3. There’s nothing like a tour around someone’s immediate environment to reveal where their heart lies and how they really are on the inside. As without, so within. Thanks for sharing this, Maitreyi.
    I need to get on with my trilogy of 1000 page novels about the contents of my top drawer, and this is a beautiful and timely reminder of that.
    Now get on with your homework!😀

    Like

  4. I was sent here by the charming Robert (from levishadated; a.k.a the person whose comments sits right above mine) and boy, am I glad!
    Ok firstly, I spy with my little eye the little Weasley twins poster, so hello there from a fellow Potterhead 😀
    And secondly, at least you apologize, I just run around yelling at these poor little things that basically have no life.
    Thirdly, super glad to have found your blog 🙂
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a creative way to describe your surroundings! You made me laugh too lol 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. [Found you at the Community Pool]…very creative. I love that you took a moment to bring things in your immediate environment into your post. Very creative!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

