Lighthouses

It’s the last day of 2015. A dedication post is in order.

To particular friends, relatives, my family and a certain cat.

To those who come to mind when I think: joy, laughter, fun, grief, disappointment, support, tears, stories, gossip, love, affection, jokes, hugs, memories, smiles. These guys are all of that, all at once.

The best thing is, they’ll know I’m talking about them as they read on. Like, they better -.-

You know, more often than not, when a person tells me a joke or something they’re happy about, or compliments me, or says something sweet, like stuff you’re just supposed to smile at no matter what, and I smile? When I smile just then, I’m fully aware that I just got myself to smile, to show some sort of appreciation for whatever’s being said. I’m conscious of the fact that I’m smiling, and I maybe simultaneously, semi-consciously control that smile to make it what I think of as a ‘pretty’ one (you know you do this too). If I wanted, I could alter my expression just then. I’m not really obliged to smile. I could pull a funny face or switch to poker face just then if I wanted.

It isn’t exactly a Real Smile.

Then there’s other times, when a small action, a few words, a text, a memory, or just a look or a grin from a person can do crazy things, and I’m smiling like an idiot. And I don’t realise I’ve done it, I can’t control it; I’m not instructing myself to smile, I just do. I can’t even stop, and I nearly never want to, because those moments are so true. Only few people can do this to/ for me every single time they try if they wanted. I don’t care how I’m smiling then, I smile big, big and ugly, and it’s beautiful that they can do that :’).

Those are real moments, that’s a Real Smile, and these are real people.

I love them for being able to make me really smile. Anytime, almost always. I’m grateful to them for possessing this ability, for being part of or the reason for the better bits of my life. It’s for people like them that I hope I could do the same. These are people who made my 2015, and I want them to make my 2016 and my 2017 and my forever. I love them.

“And I cannot repay them.

For they are Lighthouses.”Β  -Chinmay S’Patience Intelligence

Lighthouse

~matrixk

Having completely dissected the meaning of ‘Smile’ and having used it perhaps too often, I realise how weird a word it is. Say it several times. Smile Smile Smile, euch.

 

6 thoughts on “Lighthouses

  1. Oh, wow Caprice! That is a beautiful post! It didn’t make me smile, it just made me feel all good and gooey inside, like my insides are made of warm toffee – which is even better.
    I love how profoundly you think about these things and the way that you express yourself. You, and people like you are truly making the world a better place by being on it.
    Here’s something I never told anyone before. I meditate and sometimes, things that I read spontaneously send me into a meditative state. What you wrote there is one of those pieces of writing. Thank you so much for sharing this, Caprice. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’ll be a problem if I have a pretty smile lol! But otherwise, it’s nice to see how much you care about these people in your life.

    It’s also a cool thing how infectious smiles can be too, isn’t it? And definitely amazing how certain things can bring a smile to our faces, be it experiencing the joy of something bringing value into our lives, or we witness someone bringing value unto the lives of others. Keep up the spirits bud, we need more people like you in this world πŸ˜‰

    Can I ask what’s the purpose of this blog? To express yourself?

    Your pal,
    Benjamin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment πŸ™‚
      I guess that is the purpose of my blog. I enjoy writing and maybe, 10 years down the line, it’ll be interesting to see how and what about I used to write. I don’t write about any particular thing, though πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

